Annual Meeting History

The Northwest Society of Plastic Surgeons has a long history of bringing plastic surgeons and specialists together for an annual meeting. From continuing education to networking, our annual meeting is designed to provide surgeons with a unique opportunity to learn, grow, and share through direct access with their peers in the region.

Our annual meeting has a rich and varied history, starting in 1952 with the Pacific Northwest Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons. Below, we’ve compiled information about all of our meeting locations and presidents since then.

The Pacific Northwest Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons Meeting History

March 1952Heathman Hotel in Portland, ORAdelbert G. Bettman
April 1952University of Oregon Medical SchoolAdelbert G. Bettman
March 1953Shaunessy Hospital in Vancouver, BCAdelbert G. Bettman
1954Herbert E. Coe
May 1955Sacred Heart Hospital in Spokane, WARobert G. Langston
April 1956Empress Hotel in Victoria, BCCharles M. Mackenzie
April 1957Benson Hotel in Portland, ORCharles E. Gurney
May 1958Winthrop Hotel in Tacoma, WAErnest E. Banfield
May 1959Harrison Hot Springs Hotel in Harrison Hot Springs, BCCarl E. Chism
May 1960The Sands of Gearhart in Gearhart, ORVerner V. Lindgren
1961The Pacific Northwest Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery is Dissolved
1962The Northwest Society of Plastic Surgeons is founded
May 1962Empress Hotel, Victoria BC, Victoria, BCWillard D. Rowland
May 1963Benjamin Franklin Hotel, Seattle, WARobert J. Cowan
May 1964Bayshore Inn, Vancouver, BCCarl E. Chism
May 1965Benjamin Franklin Hotel, Seattle, WACarl E. Chism
May 1966Alderbrook Inn, Hood Canal, WADavid E. Sullivan
May 1967Salishan Resort, Gleneden Beach, ORDavid E. Sullivan
May 1968Capri Motor Hotel, Kelowna, BCG.C. Pow
May 1969Good Samaritan Hospital, Portland, ORMathew Piling
March 1970Sun Valley Lodge, Ketchum, IDJames V. Meyer
May 1971Bayshore Inn, Vancouver, BCJoseph J. Badre
April 1972WA Plaza Hotel, Seattle, WAGilbert E. Eade
April 1973Maui Surf Hotel, Kaanapali Beach, HIVerner V. Lindgren
May 1974Empress Hotel, Victoria BCJ. T. B. Quayle
September 1975The Admiralty, Port Ludlow, WAJohn R. Alger
September 1976The Harrison Hotel, Harrison Hot Springs, BCTheodore F. Wilkie
May 1977Sunriver, Bend, ORLinton G. Weed
August 1978Elkhorn, Ketchum, IDEugene R. Perrin
August 1979Trail Regional Hospital, Trail, BCJohn G. Colbert
April 1980Sheraton Maui, Kaanapali, HIJames R. Stilwell
September 1981Hotel Vancouver, Vancouver, BCIvar Barwell-Clarke
September 1982Four Seasons Olympic, Seattle, WARobert V. DeVito
September 1983Marriot Hotel, Portland, ORFred W. Bieker
August 1984Cape Fox Sheffield Hotel, Juneau, AKGary E. Carlson
September 1985Kona Surf Resort, Kailua-Kona, HISherwood P. Smith
September 1986Four Seasons Hotel, Edmonton, AlbertaErwyn W. Bissell
September 1987Salishan Resort, Gleneden Beach, ORRalph G. Cutler
September 1988Couer d’Alene Resort on the Lake, Couer d’Alene, IDGerald W. Olmstead
September 1989Four Seasons Olympic, Seattle, WACarl F. Berner
September 1990Stouffer Waiohai Hotel, Poipu, HIVictor Hay-Roe
September 1991Empress Hotel, Victoria BCAlastair Baird
August 1992Sunriver, Bend, OREarl Parrish
August 1993Couer d’Alene Resort, Couer d’Alene, IDFrank Walchak
January 1995Manele Bay Hotel, Lanai’i, HIMichael Leff
January 1996Chateau Whistler Resort, Whistler, BCKimit Rai
February 1997Royal Waikoloan Hotel, Kona, HIFred Leist
February 1998Sun Valley Lodge, Ketchum, IDLouis H. McCraw
January 1999Kea Lani Resort, Wailea, HawaiiLarry Schlesinger
February 2000Chateau Whistler Resort, Whistler, BCDan Downey
February 2001Princeville Resort, Princeville, HIRichard Warren
February 2002Sun Valley Lodge, Ketchum, IDCharles Layman
February 2003Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, Big Island, HIJoseph Welch
February 2004Lake Louise Resort, Lake Louise, AlbertaLorne Brown
February 2005Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Maui, HIRichard Baxter
February 2006Chateau Whistler Resort, Whistler, BCPatricia Clugston
February 2007Manele Bay Hotel, Lanai’i, HINicholas Vedder
February 2008Fairmont Orchid, Kohala Coast, HIPeter Lennox
February 2009Silver Star, Vernon, BCBrian Peterson
February 2010Grand Hyatt, Poipu, Kauai, HIDrew Welk
February 2011Sun Valley Lodge, Sun Valley, IDLisa Lynn Sowder
February 2012JW Marriott Ihilani, Ko’Olina, Oahu, HIAysel K. Sanderson
February 2013Waldorf Hotel, the Grand Wailea, Maui, HIRichard Hopper
February 2014Sun Peaks, British Columbia, CanadaJ. Scott Williamson
February 2015Sheraton Kona, Big Island, HawaiiGeoff Yule
February 2016Grand Hyatt, Poipu, KauaiKiya Movassaghu
February 2017Yellowstone Conference Center Big Sky, MontanaCraig Birgfeld
February 2018Kahala Hotel, Honolulu, HawaiiFrederick Ehret
February 2019Hapuna Beach Hotel, Big Island, HawaiiEarl Campbell
February 2020Sun Valley Lodge, Sun Valley IdahoPaul Faringer
February 2021Grand Wailea, MauiChad Wheeler